Member countries of the NEAT are the ASEAN Plus Three (APT) countries, namely: Brunei, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam. The NEAT consists of think-tanks designated by the APT Governments.

The founding members of NEAT are:

  • Brunei Darussalam Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Brunei;
  • General Department of ASEAN, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Cambodia;
  • Center for East Asian Studies, China Foreign Affairs University, China;
  • Center for East Asian Cooperation Studies, University of Indonesia, Indonesia;
  • The Japan Forum on International Relations, Inc., Japan;
  • Korean Institute of South East Asian Studies (KISEAS), Korea;
  • Institute of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Laos;
  • Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS), Malaysia;
  • Myanmar Institute of Strategic and International Studies (MISIS), Myanmar;
  • Philippine Institute for Development Studies, Philippines;
  • East Asian Institute, National University of Singapore, Singapore;
  • Institute of East Asian Studies, Thammasat University, Thailand; and
  • Institute for International Relations (Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vietnam.

Information about the Country Coordinators and member institutions can be found in Country Coordinators and Member Institutions.