The 4th NEAT Annual Conference was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia,22-23 Sept. 2006. All 10 ASEAN  member countries, China, Japan and Korea took part in this meeting.
In the meanwhile, the 5th NEAT Country Coordinator's Meeting was held on 21 and 23 of September 2006 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
The 5th  NEAT Country Coordinator's Meeting has approved 6 working group reports:
  1. Trade-FDI-Technology Linkages in East Asia
  2. East Asian Investment Cooperation
  3. East Asian Financial Cooperation
  4. Intra-regional Exchange Rate Stability & Prevention of Financial Crisis in East Asia
  5. Energy Security Cooperation in East Asia
  6. Overall Architecture of Community Building in East Asia (Regional Architectures for Non-traditional Security and Environment Cooperation in East Asia)